NHRDA Indiana Diesel Shootout

Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis
2014 MBRP Diesel Drag Racing Series

Marion County Fairgrounds kicked off the action on Friday night with the 6th stop on the NHRDA sled pull series. Everyone was watching the Super Stock National points battle between Brad Ingram and Brad Deeter as they are tied headed into the Indiana Diesel Shootout.

Saturday the NHRDA returned to historic Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis for the Indiana Diesel Shootout. With near-perfect weather and a well-prepped race track, racers and fans couldn't have asked for a better day and venue for top-notch diesel drag racing in the Hoosier state.

Two racers broke three national records, and one of them--Jared Jones--turned in the quickest and fastest run in NHRDA history. While Jones and Shadday were breaking record many others were breaking their trucks as the well prepped track took its toll on some of the top competitors. At the end of the day, the winner's circle featured quite a few familiar faces, but a few newcomers crashed the party as well. All told, it was a dynamite day of racing at the Indiana Diesel Shootout!

Jared Jones
Top Diesel - Champion

Jared Jones wheeled the Scheid Diesel Motorsports dragster into the winner's circle at Indy, and attained every possible achievement along the way. Number one qualifier? Check. Low ET? Check. Top Speed? Check. Event win? Check. National ET and MPH records? Check and check. Jones, a resident of Terre Haute, Ind., claimed his second win of 2014 (he also won at St. Louis) and in the process extended his points lead. He made the quickest-6.37 seconds-and fastest-225.30 mph-runs in the history of NHRDA. He sealed the victory with a 6.67, 208.30 mph run in the final, easily outrunning Jeff Dean's troubled pass.

Without question, it was a dominating effort for Jones and his team.

Congrats to Jared Jones and the Scheid Diesel team!

Ryan "The Hard Way" Milliken
Pro Stock - Champion

When the season ends, we'll look back at the Indy event as the day Ryan Milliken truly earned "The Hard Way" nickname. He opened the event with a crash during Super Street qualifying, but came back strong to pick up his sixth Pro Stock win of 2014. The Navarre, Fla., racer is unbeaten this season and continues to trample the competition in Pro Stock.

Congrats to Ryan and Team Dirty Max!

Jarid "The Iron Man" Vollmer
Pro Street - Champion

Like Milliken in Pro Stock, Jarid Vollmer is undefeated in 2014 in Pro Street. Vollmer drove the Bully Dog Dodge to the event win at Indy, knocking off Shawn Proctor in the final. Vollmer was the number one qualifier, running as quick as 8.88, just seven hundredths of a second off of his own national ET record. Vollmer, who made the long tow from Chubbuck, Idaho, put a stranglehold on the national points lead and looks to be untouchable as he enters the second half of the season.

Congrats to Jarid and Team Bully Dog!

Ben Shadday
Super Street - Champion

Osgood, Indiana racer Ben Shadday made his first appearance of 2014 in grand fashion, as he not only won the event, he set a national ET record in the process. He qualified on the pole with a 9.81, and when eliminations began, he just got stronger, eventually posting a 9.41-second pass, the best ever in Super Street. In the final, it was an all-Dodge affair, as Shadday wheeled his 2004 Dodge past the 2006 Dodge of Derek Rose, who was also making his first appearance of 2014.

Congrats to Ben Shadday!

Michael Dalton
BD Power Super Diesel - Champion

Michael Dalton was almost perfect in qualifying, taking the top spot with an 11.901 on the 11.90 index. And once eliminations started, he was untouchable in his 2010 Dodge, as he navigated four rounds of tough competition to post his first victory of 2014. The final round was a bit anti-climactic, as Josh Harris rolled through the beams in his 2006 Chevy van, handing the easy win to Dalton. For Dalton, who hails from Cookeville, Tenn., the win was perfectly timed, as it moved him into the points lead with five races to go.

Congrats to Michael Dalton!

Trey Sikes
Strictly Diesel Sportsman - Champion

If the sight of an 11-second Chevy van in the final of Super Diesel wasn't enough to prove the point that you can win with almost any combination in the NHRDA, Trey Sikes and his 2010 Volkswagen Jetta wagon hammered it home in Sportsman Diesel. After making the long drive from Hamlet, North Carolina, Sikes claimed his third win of 2014 at Lucas Oil Raceway. In the title round, he used a terrific package to claim the victory, posting a .024 reaction time, and running 16.19 on his 16.17 dial to knock out Blake Newman. Newman was no slouch, as he cut a .058 light and was just .04 over his dial, but it wasn't enough to chase down Sikes.

For Sikes, that's five races entered, four finals, three wins, and one massive points lead.

Congrats to Trey Sikes!

Kent Crowder
Super Stock Diesel - Champion

Kent Crowder turned in a dominant effort in his home state, routing the Super Stock field with a massive pull in front of a packed house at the Marion County Fairgrounds. Crowder's 374-foot pull in his 2008 Dodge was 35 feet longer than the effort of second place finisher Brad Deeter.

Congrats to Kent Crowder!

Josh Deeter
3.0 Class - Champion

Josh Deeter claimed his third event win of the season, and moved into second place in the points. His 312-foot pull in his 1995 Dodge was good enough to relegate points leader Dan Clarke to second place on the night. Clarke pulled 300 feet in his 2005 Chevy, and has now finished second in back-to-back events.

Congrats to Josh Deeter!

Ben Braunecker
2.6 Class - Champion

The most dramatic class of the event was the 2.6 category, where less than six feet separated the top three finishers. Hoosier state hero Ben Braunecker emerged victorious, wheeling his 1997 Dodge past fellow Indiana resident Jordan Kinderman, 325 feet to 322 feet. Michigan puller Nick Weaver made it an all-Dodge top-three with a 319-foot pull.

Congrats to Ben Braunecker!

Dustin Spray
Show N Shine - Winner

The crowd at Lucas Oil Raceway are clearly Blue Oval aficionados, as they roared their approval for Dustin Spray's gorgeous 1996 Ford F250. The Indianapolis native was the happy winner of the audience-judged Show n Shine.

Congrats to Dustin!


You are in luck as you can still watch all the action on Diesel TV. All you have to do is click on the Diesel TV image and start watching the the live feed we recorded for your viewing pleasure.

Click here to watch the action